FMS vs MDI vs SPJIMR 2026: Fees, Placements, Selection and Which to Pick
FMS Delhi, MDI Gurgaon and SPJIMR Mumbai often sit on the same CAT call list. This comparison covers fees, class size, selection criteria, curriculum, latest placements and who should pick which, using batch-labelled data.
Why This Comparison Matters
A CAT percentile in the high 90s can bring calls from all three. The colleges look similar on paper, since each reports average packages around Rs 30 lakh. They differ a lot in cost, class size and how they choose students. A Rs 2.4 lakh programme and a Rs 25 lakh programme can lead to near-identical average salaries, so the choice deserves a careful look.
How We Picked These Colleges
We did not rank these colleges against each other. We picked them because they are frequent shortlist companions for CAT candidates in the 95+ percentile range, all three accept CAT, and all three published 2026 placement data. This is not an official ranking. Numbers come from official college releases where we could read them (MDI's 2026 placement report, SPJIMR's Class of 2026 press release, MDI's NIRF announcement) and from news and education portals for the rest. Where sources disagreed, we say so. Every figure carries its batch or year.
Quick Comparison Table
FMS Delhi
Faculty of Management Studies, University of Delhi
FMS is a university department, so its fees are a fraction of what private institutes charge. It is a CAT-only, two-year full-time MBA, and CAT is mandatory for every applicant. The first year covers core tools and models and ends with a summer internship. The second year is built around electives and professional planning.
FMS reported that finance and banking hiring grew 78% and product, IT and analytics roles grew 68% in the 2024-26 batch.
MDI Gurgaon
Management Development Institute
MDI runs the largest class of the three and offers four programme tracks: PGDM, PGDM-HRM, PGDM-BN (business analytics) and PGDM-IB. Its 2027-29 application form also lists a PGDM-BFS option, so check the current brochure for the exact set. MDI was ranked 9th in the NIRF 2025 management category, according to its own announcement.
Consulting took the largest share of offers across programmes (35.1% for PGDM and 46.2% for HRM). Named recruiters in the report include McKinsey, BCG, Deloitte, Goldman Sachs, JPMorgan Chase, Amazon, Microsoft and Reliance Industries. The report does not state how many students were placed, so we cannot give a placement rate.
SPJIMR Mumbai
S P Jain Institute of Management and Research
SPJIMR is the smallest private option here and is based in Mumbai. For the Class of 2026 it reported 100% final placement for its PGDM and PGDM (BM) batch of 356, its largest so far. Placement data is reported by cohort: marketing, finance, operations and supply chain, information management and general management.
Consulting made up 40% of offers. FMCG took 30% of the marketing cohort, and BFSI plus IB/PE took 32% of the finance cohort. Recruiters include McKinsey, BCG, Goldman Sachs, HUL, P&G, Nestle and Aditya Birla Group. Another portal reports slightly different numbers for the same batch (median Rs 31.50 LPA, 72 companies), so confirm against SPJIMR's own report.
Entrance Exams and Selection
FMS Delhi. CAT is compulsory, and applicants who skip CAT are not considered. The CAT score is weighted VARC 40%, DILR 30% and QA 30% for the composite. Women applicants get 5 extra marks if they appear for the interview. One portal lists the shortlisting weights as CAT 50%, Class 10 10%, Class 12 10%, SOP discussion 10%, extempore 5% and personal interview 15%. The same article gives different interview weights elsewhere, so check FMS's official notification. Work experience is not required. The minimum is a bachelor's degree with 50% for the unreserved category.
MDI Gurgaon. CAT is the main exam. GMAT is accepted only for PGDM-IB. Portals report this shortlisting split: CAT or GMAT 65%, Class 10, Class 12 and graduation 5% each, academic diversity 5%, gender diversity 5% and work experience 10%. Shortlisted candidates go through GD, WAT and a personal interview. For 2027-29, the application window runs from 24 September to 28 November 2026.
SPJIMR Mumbai. CAT or GMAT is accepted, with a 50% graduation requirement. Freshers and candidates with up to 5 years of experience can apply. The composite score weighs academics, test score, relevance of work experience, and versatility and achievements. SPJIMR does not publish percentage weights on the page we read. The 2027-29 deadline is 27 November 2026, and the application fee is Rs 2,500 per programme.
Which One for Whom
- Pick FMS if cost is a real constraint. Rs 2.43 lakh against roughly Rs 25 to 27 lakh is a gap of over Rs 22 lakh, while the average CTC is in the same range as the other two. It suits candidates who are comfortable with a CAT-heavy, interview-and-extempore process and want consulting, finance and product roles.
- Pick MDI if you want breadth. The four programme tracks, large batch and 157 recruiters give many routes, and the PGDM-HRM and BN tracks serve students with a specific function in mind. Check the track-wise averages, since HRM (Rs 24.8 LPA) and IB (Rs 26.3 LPA) sit below the PGDM average (Rs 29.5 LPA).
- Pick SPJIMR if you want the highest reported average and median of the three and a smaller batch in Mumbai. It suits candidates with work experience of up to 5 years whose profile fits one cohort such as marketing, finance or information management. Its highest CTC is the lowest of the three, so do not choose it for headline numbers.
- If you hold calls from all three, compare the cohort or track you will actually join, not the college average. Then compare your loan or savings position.
Return on Investment
A simple way to compare is the ratio of fee to average CTC, using each college's own batch data. FMS charges about Rs 2.43 lakh against an average of Rs 32.27 LPA. MDI charges about Rs 26.55 lakh against Rs 29.5 LPA. SPJIMR charges Rs 24.86 lakh against Rs 33.75 LPA. This ignores forgone salary, taxes, bonuses and interest on any loan. Also remember that fees and placements come from different years, so treat the comparison as indicative.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is CAT compulsory for all three? For FMS, yes. For MDI, CAT is the main exam and GMAT is accepted only for PGDM-IB. SPJIMR accepts CAT or GMAT.
Which has the lowest fee? FMS Delhi, at about Rs 2.43 lakh in total as reported by a news portal. MDI and SPJIMR are both in the Rs 25 to 27 lakh range.
Do I need work experience? Not for FMS. At MDI it is optional, except for PGDM-IB, which needs one year, and it carries 10% in the reported shortlisting split. SPJIMR accepts freshers and up to 5 years of experience.
Which has the highest average package? By the batches we compared, SPJIMR's Class of 2026 reported Rs 33.75 LPA, FMS 2024-26 reported Rs 32.27 LPA and MDI 2024-26 reported Rs 29.5 LPA. FMS reported the highest single package, Rs 1.10 crore.
Is the placement rate 100% everywhere? SPJIMR reported 100% final placement for the Class of 2026. FMS reported 287 students placed but we found no batch size to compute a rate. MDI's report does not state the number placed.
Can I apply to all three? Yes. Each runs its own application and shortlisting, so they do not conflict, but keep the November 2026 deadlines for MDI and SPJIMR in view.
Final Word
All three colleges deliver average packages near Rs 30 lakh, so the deciding factors are fee, class size and the cohort you will join. Fees, seat numbers, selection weightage and placement figures change each year and some numbers differ across portals. Verify every detail on the official FMS, MDI and SPJIMR websites and in their latest placement reports before you decide.
Kavya Kumar
Founder of GRADSCALE, which he architected and built from scratch — the daily drill engine, PYQ access, analytics and leaderboards behind the platform's daily execution system.